Progressive rock/metal with a modern sound, lead by Petra Honing’s graceful and powerful vocals. With big riffs, spheric passages, flashy keyboard and guitar solos, vocal harmonies and an energetic performance, Equisa is impressive on stage and on record.

Equisa 2012


The seeds were sown when in 2004 Petra Honing (lead vocals) starts to make music with George van Olffen (keys). Joost Maglev (bass, backing vocals) and Sebas Honing (guitars, backing vocals, keys) get together in 2006 and end up in Galanor where Petra joins them in 2008. After Petra and Sebas leave Galanor in 2009 they start to work with George and their musical legacy up to that point as Turn GPS. When Galanor breaks up in early 2011 they ask Joost to join them. After 2 gigs with Roel van Helden (Powerwolf / ex-Sun Caged) behind the drums Johan van den Berg  is recruited as a permanent drummer.

In 2011 the name Equisa is born and their first EP called Straight Lines is released at the end of the year. In Febuary 2012 Johan is replaced by Raymond Otterspeer and the group starts writing lots of new material. A few months later they decide to split with George and carry on as a 4-piece.
Equisa’s first video ‘Faces’ premiered on October 14th 2013, followed shortly on the 21st by the corresponding independent debut album Strange Release. The album has been praised with terms like ‘Must have’, high ratings in reviews and even being voted ‘the best album of 2013!’

In late 2015 Raymond is replaced by Stefan Maas, soon followed by the addition of Koen Stam (keys) to the line-up in 2016. With this 5-piece line-up Equisa starts recording the follow up to Strange Release, set for a release in late 2017 or early 2018. New songs have already been played live.

Equisa is:
Petra Honing (lead vocals)
Sebas Honing (guitars, backing vocals)
Joost Maglev (bass, backing vocals)
Koen Stam (keyboards)
Stefan Maas (drums)

Design & Development: MaXxive Productions / Hosting by: Aspage Automatisering / Copyright 2011 - 2020 / Google+